Best Inexpensive MPPT Charge Controller

Hughes500Pilot

Question

Hi.  I'm new to off grid solar power systems.  I was given two  12v 100w solar panels and I'm looking for the least expensive MPPT solar charge controller I can find.  I do not need bluetooth (but it would be nice if the price was not too much extra).  I know Victron makes excellent charge controllers, but their least expensive is $108.  I see hundreds of cheap/no name charge controllers listed for sale on Amazon and ebay that claim to be real MPPT charge controllers.  But, I know a lot of them are just basic PWM charge controllers with a sticker on the front saying they are MPPT.  Does anyone know of a TRUE MPPT charge controller that is inexpensive?  Thanks.  -Steve

7 answers to this question

On 1/13/2023 at 11:26 AM, Hughes500Pilot said:

Hi.  I'm new to off grid solar power systems.  I was given two  12v 100w solar panels and I'm looking for the least expensive MPPT solar charge controller I can find.  I do not need bluetooth (but it would be nice if the price was not too much extra).  I know Victron makes excellent charge controllers, but their least expensive is $108.  I see hundreds of cheap/no name charge controllers listed for sale on Amazon and ebay that claim to be real MPPT charge controllers.  But, I know a lot of them are just basic PWM charge controllers with a sticker on the front saying they are MPPT.  Does anyone know of a TRUE MPPT charge controller that is inexpensive?  Thanks.  -Steve

You can usually get renogy charge controllers pretty cheap. Keep an eye on FB marketplace.

I sold my renogy 20 amp there for 20 bucks when I dumped it for victron and there was two others in my area .

On 1/13/2023 at 9:26 AM, Hughes500Pilot said: