Best Inexpensive MPPT Solar Charge Controller

Hughes500Pilot

Question

Hi.  I'm new to off grid solar power systems.  I was given two  12v 100w solar panels and I'm looking for the least expensive MPPT solar charge controller I can find.  I do not need bluetooth (but it would be nice if the price was not too much extra).  I know Victron makes excellent charge controllers, but their least expensive is $108.  I see hundreds of cheap/no name charge controllers listed for sale on Amazon and ebay that claim to be real MPPT charge controllers.  But, I know a lot of them are just basic PWM charge controllers with a sticker on the front saying they are MPPT.  Does anyone know of a TRUE MPPT charge controller that is inexpensive?  Thanks.  -Steve

(I originally posted this in the Newbie section, but I thought I might get more answers if I moved it here)

7 answers to this question

The little blue  MPPT 20 Amp Solar charge Controller  eBay wonders for $15-$20 just don't last. I got to the mountains to dry camp for a while and day 3 the cheap controller dies. The next one lasted a year and I start to head for the mountains and it was a brick. 20A is all you need with 4 X 100 watt panels. A lot of the holes and screws to hold the wires in are not very big on ever some good MPPTs. I always have a problem with that. I can't see or it takes 15 minutes to get the wires in. Rich solar has a Renogy clone with 8 gauge holes and is sturdy and there is usually a deal on them on eBay. I got mine for $60. I would add spacers (or 4 plastic soft drink tops between screw and wood to hold it to a board  to help it cool down.

On 3/1/2023 at 11:43 AM, Kip McMillan said:

One thing I've learned is that one day you want to expand your setup and wished I started with a larger mppt. Pay a little more now instead of buying another unit later. Good luck